HyINTEGER - research projekt

What is HyINTEGER

HyINTEGER is an acronym which stands for: Investigations on the integrity of wells and technical components exposed to highly corrosive conditions in geological hydrogen underground reservoirs.

 

The research project, approved for three years, is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (funding number: 03ET6073).

For more information please click here.

Who is HyINTEGER

The third-party financed project is made up of five subprojects, coordinated by the Institute of Geosciences at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. The five subprojects are comprised by national and international research institutions and universities. The focus of the project partners are the inorganic, organic microbiological and petrophysical reservoir characterizations as well as simulation and modeling approaches from pore to reservoir scale.

For more information please click here.

contact

For further information, suggestions or questions please click here.


Background

One of the key challenges in the implementation of the ambitious energy and environmental policy goals of the German government in the so called "Energiewende" is the allocation of sufficiently, constantly and safely produced energy for the population and industry.

 

Important resources of regenerative energy are wind and solar power plants, which both depend on the prevailing weather conditions and their (partly strong) fluctuations in energy production. Thus require a considerable expansion of the storage capacity for a required stable energy supply.

 

A promising solution for this problem could be the electrolytic conversion of electrical to chemical energy, combined with storage in geological structures. The electrolysis produces hydrogen, a high energy carrier, which is potentially storable. Geological structures in the underground, e.g. depleted natural gas reservoirs, saline aquifers and salt caverns offer the possibility of storing hydrogen-containing natural gas or even gas mixtures of hydrogen and CO2 as well as pure hydrogen.

 

The here presented project has been launched in January 2016 within the framework "Research for environmentally-friendly, reliable and affordable energy supply" by the BMWi.

 

The aim of the project is to investigate the interactions between the technical facilities for hydrogen storage in the geological underground in a highly corrosive, highly saline environment. Therefore material, engineering and geoscientific methods will be used. Both the chemical-mineralogical, microbiological and petrophysical-geohydraulic-geomechanical properties of the reservoirs and cap rocks will be investigated, as well as the stability and tightness of the technical facilities. If necessary, these infrastructures will be new or further developed.

HyINTEGER - Forschungsprojekt

Was ist HyINTEGER

HyINTEGER ist ein Akronym und steht für: Untersuchungen zur Integrität von Bohrungen und technischen Materialien unter stark korrosiven Bedingungen in geologischen Wasserstoff Untergrundreservoiren.

Das auf drei Jahre bewilligte Forschungsprojekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie gefördert (Fördernummer: 03ET6073).

Für weitere Informationen...

Wer ist HyINTEGER

Das drittmittelgeförderte Projekt ist aus fünf Teilprojekten aufgebaut, die vom Institut für Geowissenschaften der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena koordiniert werden. Die fünf Teilprojekte umfassen Kooperationen von nationalen und internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten. Die Schwerpunkte der Projektpartner sind die anorganischen, organisch - mikrobiologischen und petrophysikalischen Reservoir Charakterisierungen sowie Simulations- und Modellierungsarbeiten von der Poren bis zur Reservoir Skala.

Für weitere Informationen…

Kontakt

Für weitere Informationen, Anregungen und Anfragen klicken Sie bitte hier.


Hintergrund

Eine der zentralen Herausforderungen in der Umsetzung der ambitionierten Energie und umweltpolitischen Ziele der deutschen Bundesregierung im Zuge des geplanten Ausstieges aus CO2-emittierender und nuklear betriebener Stromproduktion hin zu erneuerbaren Ressourcen ist die Bereitstellung von ausreichend hohen, konstant und sicher produzierten Energiemengen zur Versorgung der deutschen Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft.

 

Wichtige Quellen für regenerative Energie in Deutschland sind die Windkraft und die Solarenergie, die jedoch beide von den herrschenden Wetterbedingungen abhängen und somit (teilweise stark) schwankende Energiemengen liefern. Diese Fluktuationen in der Energieproduktion erfordern darum eine erhebliche Erweiterung der Speicherkapazität zur bedarfsgerechten Energiebereitstellung.

 

Eine vielversprechende Lösung dieser Problematik könnte die elektrolytische Umwandlung von elektrischer in chemische Energie, verbunden mit einer stofflichen Speicherung in geologischen Strukturen, darstellen. Durch dieses Verfahren wird Wasserstoff gewonnen, der in verschiedenen Medien potentiell speicherbar ist. Geologische Strukturen im Untergrund, wie z.B. ausgeförderte Erdgaslagerstätten, salinare Aquifere und Salzkavernen bieten die Möglichkeit wasserstoffhaltiges Erdgas oder auch Gasmischungen aus Wasserstoff und CO2 sowie reinen Wasserstoff einzulagern.

 

Das hier vorgestellte Projekt ist im Rahmen der BMWi Ausschreibung „Forschung für eine umweltschonende, zuverlässige und bezahlbare Energieversorgung“ am 01.01.2016 gestartet.

 

Ziel des Projekts ist die Untersuchung von Wechselwirkungen zwischen den technischen Einrichtungen eines Wasserstoffspeichers und den natürlichen (Untergrund-) Bestandteilen in einem stark korrosiven, hoch salinaren Milieu, unter Einsatz material-, ingenieur- und geowissenschaftlicher Methoden. Dabei sollen sowohl die chemisch-mineralogischen, mikrobiologischen und petrophysikalisch-geohydraulisch-geomechanischen Eigenschaften der Speicher- und Deckgesteine untersucht, als auch die Stabilität und Dichtigkeit der technischen Einrichtungen geprüft und gegebenenfalls weiter- und neuentwickelt werden.